Stages of the Customer Journey


Brody Hall

 on July 3, 2022. 
Reviewed by 

Joel Taylor

Man standing behind holographic illustration that reads "customer journey"

The customer journey is the process that a customer goes through when interacting with a company. This can include researching a product, considering a purchase, making a purchase, and using the product. The customer journey can be different for each customer, depending on their needs and preferences. Companies can use this information to improve their products and services and better meet the needs of their customers.

To help you understand more, read through this guide to customer journey.

The Customer Journey Stages

The steps can vary depending on the product or service being sold, but there are typically six primary stages in the customer journey:

  1. Awareness The awareness stage is the earliest stage of the customer journey, and it refers to the time when a customer first becomes aware of a need or problem that they could potentially solve by purchasing a product or service.
  2. Interest The interest stage of the customer journey is when a potential customer first becomes aware of a product or service. They may see an advertisement, hear about it from a friend, or learn about it from another source.
  3. Consideration The consideration stage of the customer journey is when potential customers are researching and considering their options. This can be done online or in person, and includes looking at reviews, comparing prices, and considering what is important to them.
  4. Purchase The purchase stage of the customer journey is when a customer decides to buy a product or service. This stage of the customer buying process can be influenced by a number of factors, including the customer's need or want for the product, the price of the product, the availability of the product, and the customer's perception of the product.
  5. Retention The retention stage of the customer journey is when a company seeks to keep a customer by providing value and satisfaction. This can be done through customer service, product offerings, and more.
  6. Advocacy The advocacy stage is the final stage of the customer journey, and it occurs when the customer has become a loyal advocate for your product or service. At this stage, the customer is fully satisfied with your product and is likely to recommend it to others.

Why Customer Journey Stages Are Important

The customer journey is important because it helps businesses understand the different stages that a customer goes through when interacting with a brand. Understanding these stages can help businesses optimize their marketing and sales efforts, as well as improve their customer service. The four main stages of the customer journey are awareness, consideration, purchase, and loyalty.

To learn more about tracking the customer journey, read Mapping and Tracking the E-Commerce Customer Journey.

How to Improve Customer Experience Using the Customer Journey

There are several steps you can take to improve the customer experience using the customer journey:

  1. Understand your customers' needs and wants
  2. Create a process that is easy for customers to navigate
  3. Make it easy for customers to contact you with questions or problems
  4. Respond quickly to customer inquiries and complaints
  5. Solve problems quickly and efficiently
  6. Take steps to prevent problems from happening in the first place

Understanding the customer journey is essential to developing unique customer retention strategies.

Can't find what you're looking for?